Sugars in the Cloud: Machine Learning and Data Science for Glycobiology

94 94 people viewed this event.

Speaker: Dr. Daniel Bojar, University of Gothenburg.

Moderator: Dr. Kiyoko Aoki-Kinoshita

Abstract: Glycans or complex carbohydrates are a universal yet understudied biological sequence with unique properties. The crucial role of glycans in autoimmunity, viral infections, cancer, microbiome development, and many other processes holds promise for translating a better understanding of glycan functions into biomedical advances. Dr. Bojar will present the efforts of his research group to achieve this. Developing and applying data science and machine learning methods for glycobiology has, among others, provided insight into glycan – protein interactions, glycan – immune interactions, and glycan – pathogen interactions. In a two-pronged approach, Dr. Bojar’s group both uses new methods to discover these new facets of glycobiolgoy but also makes these methods freely available to the community via their Python package glycowork, to build a firm foundation for computational glycobiology.

📅 : September 21, 2022
⏲️ : 10 am CET/4 pm WIB/5 pm SGT
Register now (FREE): https://bit.ly/APBTalks5

Event registration closed.
 

Date And Time

2022-09-21 @ 05:00 PM (+08) to
06:00 PM (+08)
 

Location

Online Event
 

Event Types

Share With Friends